10/17 : International Straight Edge Day. A Reflection on Straight Edge

Today, October 17th, is International Straight Edge Day. Edge Day is traditionally a day where kids went to shows  or got together to celebrate who they are.  In 2009 , Have Heart ( one of my favorite edge bands) played their last show at an Edge Day celebration just outside of Boston, MA.   I did not attend  but I have watched videos of the show and let me tell you it looked like an edger’s heaven.  Edge Day always makes me reflect on my own reasons for being straight edge. 

I was in 6th grade , when an 8th grader first told me about straight edge. He told me that he wanted to be straight edge and draw black X’s on his hands. He didnt drink, smoke, or do drugs.  I thought this was cool but to be honest, I kind of forgot about it until sophmore year of high school or so.  I stayed drug and alcohol -free ( i had a sip of vodka and coke in 8th grade) through the rest of grammar school and the beginning of high school but never thought too much of it.  I come from a family of addicts ( alcohol, tobaco, prescription drug abusers) so substance abuse just didnt appeal to me.  

During my sophmore year of high school, i witnessed most of my friends fall victim to peer pressure and this crushed me.  I was naive and thought they really would wait till 21  to drink.   As a result , I started to claim straight edge and became very militant. I wanted all drug dealers given the death penalty, prohibition to come back, tobacco to be banned. That phase didnt last long and i felt like i needed something more. I had just started going to various hardcore and metalcore shows in New York City and realized that if I wanted anthing good to come out of straight edge , i needed to have a positive mental attitude ( didnt find H2O till senior year but PMA is the best phrase I could think of). 

My views on straight edge have changed throughout the years , but now that I am 19 I see it as the base of my life. If I want to accomplish anything productive, I need to have a clear mind and body first.  Instead of wasting my money on booze, I spend it on things that i am interested in : anime, manga, shows, band merch.  I am hopefully going to study in Japan next semester and I need to have good grades to be accepted. If I was out partying , I dont think my grades would be where they are now.  I love my life and I love being straight edge. 

If you have any questions about straight edge or anything else feel free to ask, i’d be happy to answer them.

Happy Edge Day!!

PMA ( Positive Mental Attitude ) All Day!  Straight Edge XXX

-chris

About xthestraightedgeotakux

I'm a 19 year old college student . I am Straight Edge ( a drug, alcohol, tobacco, promiscuity-free lifestyle) and very proud! I am very interested in Japanese language and culture. I enjoy manga/anime and I frequent conventions
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

