Reflections on GivesMeHope.com

Earlier this year , I saw that someone “liked” a certain story  on facebook.  I thought the story was pretty cool so I clicked on the link. It brought me to the facebook page of a site called givesmehope.com. Wanting to find out more, I followed the link to the main page and what I found next brought me to tears. Page after Page ,people wrote about how certain everyday people/things/pets/situations gave them hope to get through their day. The people’s stories varied ,some  had tried or thought about trying suicide and were saved by a link to the site or were depressed and something cheered them up that day. Everyone’s story was different  but the one thing they all had in common was that they thought their story could help someone else. 

The posts are approved or denied via the reader’s votes each week. Some of the potential posts  are people who a were already helped by the site giving back and offering their words of encouragement. Some even open up their formspring accounts to help others deal with their current situations.

Givesmehope.com has even helped me through some hard times, I have been dealing with certain body and personality issues for the last year or so and the people on givesmehope have been there every step of the way . They have  never encouraged me personally but I read  their words of encouragement to other people and I take their advice.  I check givesmehope everyday and vote for potential posts because you never what that post/story means to the poster or the reader. It might just save a life. SERIOUSLY

if you are ever feeling down or depressed please tell someone you trust and get help.  you can even come to me , the random stranger on the internet . I WILL listen to whatever you have to say, and hopefully we  can come up with a solution together.

www.givesmehope.com

 

IT WORKS ,TRUST ME!!!

 

-Chris

About xthestraightedgeotakux

I'm a 19 year old college student . I am Straight Edge ( a drug, alcohol, tobacco, promiscuity-free lifestyle) and very proud! I am very interested in Japanese language and culture. I enjoy manga/anime and I frequent conventions
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

